Skip to content
Skip to content

Does Collagen help skin? (Grade C evidence)

Explore current source-reported research for this exact question. These records are separate from the synthesis below; they do not update its grade or establish a recommendation.

For skin, Collagen sits at Grade C — a hint of benefit in the recorded evidence, low certainty, at doses 2.5–10 g/day.

Exact question reviewed

Population
not reported
Intervention
Collagen · 2.5–10 g/day
Comparator
not reported
Outcome
skin
Time horizon
not reported

Bottom line. For skin, Collagen sits at Grade C — a hint of benefit in the recorded evidence, low certainty, at doses 2.5–10 g/day. [2 other]

Direction
benefit
Magnitude
small improvements in skin elasticity/hydration in industry-funded trials
Grade
C
Certainty
low
Clinical meaning
small but potentially useful
Who it applies to
—
Dose / form studied
2.5–10 g/day
Safety
not assessed
The one limitation
Claim-specific limitation details are not available in this public record.

Reviewed not reported · Evidence last changed · Open evidence record (version 0)

Grade
C
what does the grade mean?
Certainty
low
what does certainty mean?

Grade C / low: hints of benefit in small trials; a well-run RCT could easily push this to B or to null.

Who it works for

The studied population is not reported in this public record. Recorded studied dose: 2.5–10 g/day.

Evidence

StudyDesignRoleCite
Myths and media in oral collagen supplementation for the skin, nails, and hair: A reviewpeer-reviewednot classifiedPMID:34694676
Effects of Oral Collagen for Skin Anti-Aging: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis.peer-reviewednot classifiedPMID:37432180

Why this grade

Reasoning trace

The current record stores Grade C at low certainty and links 2 publishable sources. A claim-specific domain-by-domain grading rationale is not available in this public record, so no reason for upgrading or downgrading is inferred here.

Audit and version

Claim ID
ec_collagen_skin
Claim version
not reported
Governance
legacy, not verified
Clinician review
Not yet reviewed by a licensed clinician
Last evidence search
not reported
Last editorial review
not verified

Public receipt · Machine-readable claim · Methodology

Dose & form

Studied intake: 2.5–10 g/day.

People say · Evidence shows

“Collagen supplements rebuild your skin and joints”

Evidence: Grade C — small improvements in skin elasticity/hydration in industry-funded trials.

How it stacks up for skin

Grade history

Re-review cadence: every 6 months (Grade C+) · methodology v1.

Frequently asked

How long does Collagen take to work for skin?

This record does not report a studied onset time for Collagen and skin. Do not assume a typical timeframe.

What dose was used in studies of Collagen for skin?

The recorded studied dose for Collagen and skin is 2.5–10 g/day. This is a source detail, not a dose recommendation.

Does Collagen work for skin if I'm not deficient?

The studied population is not reported for Collagen and skin, so whether baseline status changes the effect is not known from this record.

Collagen or the next-best alternative for skin?

See the compare block above for the head-to-head with the most-cited alternative. Grade + certainty differences matter more than any single trial.

Related

What this is — and is not

Evidence description
small improvements in skin elasticity/hydration in industry-funded trials
Substrate's interpretation
The current reviewed record assigns Grade C at low certainty. A domain-by-domain rationale is shown only when recorded.
Discuss with a clinician
If you're on medication or have a condition that changes the calculus, bring the interaction & population blocks above to your pharmacist or prescriber before deciding.
Individualized medical advice
Not provided here or on any Substrate surface (API, agent tool, embed) — see YMYL policy.

Cite this page

Citation is encouraged. The proposed reuse license is CC-BY-4.0; status: pending-governance-ratification.

Plain-text citation
Substrate. Does Collagen help skin? (Grade C). https://evidencebased.info/interventions/collagen/skin. Updated 2026-07-16.
BibTeX
@misc{substrate_ventionscollagenskin,
  author = {Substrate editorial},
  title  = {Does Collagen help skin?},
  year   = {2026},
  url    = {https://evidencebased.info/interventions/collagen/skin},
  note   = {Grade C, evidencebased.info}
}

Found something wrong on this page? Report an error →

Current source-reported research

Membership uses admitted intervention and measured-outcome associations for this exact question. Different populations, preparations, comparators and timepoints remain separate. No pooling or update to the synthesis is asserted.