Does Caffeine help cognition? (Grade A evidence)

Explore current source-reported research for this exact question. These records are separate from the synthesis below; they do not update its grade or establish a recommendation.

Caffeine is well established for cognition (Grade A / high). The effect is consistent across trials, especially in adults; studied doses range 40–200 mg.

Exact question reviewed

Population
adults
Intervention
Caffeine · 40–200 mg
Comparator
not reported
Outcome
cognition
Time horizon
not reported

Bottom line. Caffeine is well established for cognition (Grade A / high). The effect is consistent across trials, especially in adults; studied doses range 40–200 mg. [1 other]

Direction
benefit
Magnitude
reliably improves alertness, reaction time, and vigilance
Grade
A
Certainty
high
Clinical meaning
moderate
Who it applies to
adults
Dose / form studied
40–200 mg
Safety
not assessed
The one limitation
Claim-specific limitation details are not available in this public record.

Reviewed not reported · Evidence last changed · Open evidence record (version 0)

Grade
A
what does the grade mean?
Certainty
high
what does certainty mean?

Grade A / high: consistently helps at meaningful doses; new studies would need to reverse a large body of RCT evidence to change this.

Who it works for

Best-studied in adults. Recorded studied dose: 40–200 mg.

Evidence

StudyDesignRoleCite
A review of caffeine's effects on cognitive, physical and occupational performancepeer-reviewednot classifiedPMID:27612937

Why this grade

Reasoning trace

The current record stores Grade A at high certainty and links 1 publishable source. A claim-specific domain-by-domain grading rationale is not available in this public record, so no reason for upgrading or downgrading is inferred here.

Audit and version

Claim ID
ec_caf_cog
Claim version
not reported
Governance
legacy, not verified
Clinician review
Not yet reviewed by a licensed clinician
Last evidence search
not reported
Last editorial review
not verified

Public receipt · Machine-readable claim · Methodology

Dose & form

Studied intake: 40–200 mg.

How it stacks up for cognition

Grade history

Re-review cadence: every 12 months (Grade A/B) · methodology v1.

Frequently asked

How long does Caffeine take to work for cognition?

This record does not report a studied onset time for Caffeine and cognition. Do not assume a typical timeframe.

What dose was used in studies of Caffeine for cognition?

The recorded studied dose for Caffeine and cognition is 40–200 mg. This is a source detail, not a dose recommendation.

Does Caffeine work for cognition if I'm not deficient?

The recorded studied population is adults. This field alone does not show whether deficiency or baseline status changes the effect.

Caffeine or the next-best alternative for cognition?

See the compare block above for the head-to-head with the most-cited alternative. Grade + certainty differences matter more than any single trial.

Related

What this is — and is not

Evidence description
reliably improves alertness, reaction time, and vigilance
Substrate's interpretation
The current reviewed record assigns Grade A at high certainty. A domain-by-domain rationale is shown only when recorded.
Discuss with a clinician
If you're on medication or have a condition that changes the calculus, bring the interaction & population blocks above to your pharmacist or prescriber before deciding.
Individualized medical advice
Not provided here or on any Substrate surface (API, agent tool, embed) — see YMYL policy.

Cite this page

Citation is encouraged. The proposed reuse license is CC-BY-4.0; status: pending-governance-ratification.

Plain-text citation
Substrate. Does Caffeine help cognition? (Grade A). https://evidencebased.info/interventions/caffeine/cognition. Updated 2026-07-16.
BibTeX
@misc{substrate_onscaffeinecognition,
  author = {Substrate editorial},
  title  = {Does Caffeine help cognition?},
  year   = {2026},
  url    = {https://evidencebased.info/interventions/caffeine/cognition},
  note   = {Grade A, evidencebased.info}
}

Found something wrong on this page? Report an error →

Current source-reported research

Membership uses admitted intervention and measured-outcome associations for this exact question. Different populations, preparations, comparators and timepoints remain separate. No pooling or update to the synthesis is asserted.