Does Magnesium help sleep? (Grade C evidence)

Explore current source-reported research for this exact question. These records are separate from the synthesis below; they do not update its grade or establish a recommendation.

Magnesium shows a Grade C benefit for sleep: the recorded evidence, especially in primarily older adults with insomnia suggests a modest effect, low certainty. Dose range varied; one 8-week trial used 500 mg elemental magnesium daily.

Exact question reviewed

Population
primarily older adults with insomnia
Intervention
Magnesium · varied; one 8-week trial used 500 mg elemental magnesium daily
Comparator
not reported
Outcome
sleep
Time horizon
not reported

Bottom line. Magnesium shows a Grade C benefit for sleep: the recorded evidence, especially in primarily older adults with insomnia suggests a modest effect, low certainty. Dose range varied; one 8-week trial used 500 mg elemental magnesium daily. [2 other]

Direction
benefit
Magnitude
may modestly reduce sleep-onset latency in older adults with insomnia, but the evidence is limited and low quality; benefit for general adults or magnesium glycinate specifically is uncertain
Grade
C
Certainty
low
Clinical meaning
small but potentially useful
Who it applies to
primarily older adults with insomnia
Dose / form studied
varied; one 8-week trial used 500 mg elemental magnesium daily
Safety
minor_with_ssri
The one limitation
Claim-specific limitation details are not available in this public record.

Reviewed not reported · Evidence last changed · Open evidence record (version 0)

⚠ Safety in context

Grade
C
what does the grade mean?
Certainty
low
what does certainty mean?

Grade C / low: hints of benefit in small trials; a well-run RCT could easily push this to B or to null.

Who it works for

Best-studied in primarily older adults with insomnia. Recorded studied dose: varied; one 8-week trial used 500 mg elemental magnesium daily.

Evidence

StudyDesignRoleCite
The Role of Magnesium in Sleep Health: a Systematic Review of Available Literaturepeer-reviewednot classifiedPMID:35184264 · DOI
Oral magnesium supplementation for insomnia in older adults: a Systematic Review & Meta-Analysispeer-reviewednot classifiedPMID:33865376 · DOI

Why this grade

Reasoning trace

The current record stores Grade C at low certainty and links 2 publishable sources. A claim-specific domain-by-domain grading rationale is not available in this public record, so no reason for upgrading or downgrading is inferred here.

Audit and version

Claim ID
ec_mg_sleep
Claim version
not reported
Governance
legacy, not verified
Clinician review
Not yet reviewed by a licensed clinician
Last evidence search
not reported
Last editorial review
not verified

Public receipt · Machine-readable claim · Methodology

Dose & form

Studied intake: varied; one 8-week trial used 500 mg elemental magnesium daily.

Full dose & form comparison for Magnesium →

People say · Evidence shows

“Magnesium glycinate is better for sleep because it crosses the blood-brain barrier”

Evidence: Grade C — may modestly reduce sleep-onset latency in older adults with insomnia, but the evidence is limited and low quality; benefit for general adults or magnesium glycinate specifically is uncertain.

How it stacks up for sleep

Grade history

Re-review cadence: every 6 months (Grade C+) · methodology v1.

Frequently asked

How long does Magnesium take to work for sleep?

This record does not report a studied onset time for Magnesium and sleep. Do not assume a typical timeframe.

What dose was used in studies of Magnesium for sleep?

The recorded studied dose for Magnesium and sleep is varied; one 8-week trial used 500 mg elemental magnesium daily. This is a source detail, not a dose recommendation.

Does Magnesium work for sleep if I'm not deficient?

The recorded studied population is primarily older adults with insomnia. This field alone does not show whether deficiency or baseline status changes the effect.

Magnesium or the next-best alternative for sleep?

See the compare block above for the head-to-head with the most-cited alternative. Grade + certainty differences matter more than any single trial.

Related

What this is — and is not

Evidence description
may modestly reduce sleep-onset latency in older adults with insomnia, but the evidence is limited and low quality; benefit for general adults or magnesium glycinate specifically is uncertain
Substrate's interpretation
The current reviewed record assigns Grade C at low certainty. A domain-by-domain rationale is shown only when recorded.
Discuss with a clinician
If you're on medication or have a condition that changes the calculus, bring the interaction & population blocks above to your pharmacist or prescriber before deciding.
Individualized medical advice
Not provided here or on any Substrate surface (API, agent tool, embed) — see YMYL policy.

Cite this page

Citation is encouraged. The proposed reuse license is CC-BY-4.0; status: pending-governance-ratification.

Plain-text citation
Substrate. Does Magnesium help sleep? (Grade C). https://evidencebased.info/interventions/magnesium/sleep. Updated 2026-07-19.
BibTeX
@misc{substrate_ntionsmagnesiumsleep,
  author = {Substrate editorial},
  title  = {Does Magnesium help sleep?},
  year   = {2026},
  url    = {https://evidencebased.info/interventions/magnesium/sleep},
  note   = {Grade C, evidencebased.info}
}

Found something wrong on this page? Report an error →

Current source-reported research

Membership uses admitted intervention and measured-outcome associations for this exact question. Different populations, preparations, comparators and timepoints remain separate. No pooling or update to the synthesis is asserted.

1 paper with unavailable publication authority was omitted. Current findings are the verified subset of this bounded collection; this is not a complete literature search.

Source-reported research findings

AI-extracted — pending human review. These findings retain the studied context and are not pooled treatment estimates.

PMID 39252819: Oura ring

  • AI-extracted — pending human review
  • Extraction status: machine extracted. Source status is not human clinical review.
  • Publication status: published. Record review status: not reviewed.
  • Not poolable: one source-reported result, not a pooled treatment estimate.

Direction for deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring) remains unresolved in this record.

Reported p < 0.05.

  • Studied combination: MgT.

Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems; randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study. 1 g/day of MgT versus placebo. deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring) at 21 days MgT or placebo.

Related research with a different studied context; applicability to this question remains limited.

Source-reported direction

Source-reported direction: unclear.

No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them.

Studied context

The context this result was produced in. It bounds what the result can be applied to.
Participants / populationEighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems
Study designrandomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study
Analysis populationunclear
Covariate adjustmentAdjustment unresolved in this record
Studied intervention1 g/day of MgT
Studied combinationMgT
Comparatorplacebo
Measured outcomedeep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring)
Timepoint21 days MgT or placebo

Limitations reported for this finding

  • The abstract reports bundled outcomes without endpoint-specific effect sizes, confidence intervals, or arm-level means/SDs.
  • The abstract reports 80 participants but does not state allocation counts by arm.
  • The abstract lists standardized questionnaires including the Insomnia Severity Index, Leeds Sleep Evaluation Questionnaire, and Restorative Sleep Questionnaire; it does not map each listed symptom result to a specific questionnaire.
  • The result sentence explicitly says MgT significantly improved vs placebo, but the current direction-source guard does not accept this “improved vs” phrase form; direction remains unclear pending source-matched guard support. No inferential direction is invented.
  • “Safe and well tolerated” appears in the abstract without adverse-event counts; this is not a safety guarantee.

Visual summary

Each tile describes this source record. Tile position and size do not represent benefit or a recommendation.

Direction only

Source-reported direction: unclear.

No numerical magnitude is available in this record.

Participants / population

Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems

Studied intervention

1 g/day of MgT

Studied combination

MgT

Measured outcome

deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring)

Timepoint

21 days MgT or placebo

Reported p < 0.05.

No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them.

Same finding version 2; paper version 4. Exact identity, status and limitations remain in this article.

Audio reading

Read this exact transcript with an on-device browser voice. Checks the current public source version and starts only when you press Play; no audio provider or upload. Availability depends on this browser’s local voices.

Checking for a local voice…

Complete versioned transcript

Versioned snapshot of this displayed record. It may no longer be current; audio requires a successful current-version check.

PMID 39252819: Oura ring Stable finding ID: finding:examine2025:39252819:1. Finding version: 2. Revision: finding:examine2025:39252819:1:v2. Content hash: sha256:088854b4ade679b9607bb5fc66922f3f5b0c6f5d315731d6b8f1b15e8d4e54cd. Paper version: 4. Paper content hash: sha256:7fbd5839c1b53e9a756560cefbd8c7b00ccda6f69b623a9a992f9a061be6f70c. AI-extracted — pending human review Extraction status: machine extracted. Source status is not human clinical review. Publication status: published. Record review status: not reviewed. Not poolable: one source-reported result, not a pooled treatment estimate. Direction for deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring) remains unresolved in this record. Studied combination: MgT. Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems; randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study. 1 g/day of MgT versus placebo. deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring) at 21 days MgT or placebo. Participants / population: Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems. Study design: randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study. Analysis population: unclear. Covariate adjustment: Adjustment unresolved in this record. Studied intervention: 1 g/day of MgT. Studied combination: MgT. Studied route / context: Not encoded in this record. Comparator: placebo. Measured outcome: deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring). Timepoint: 21 days MgT or placebo. Related research with a different studied context; applicability to this question remains limited. Source-reported direction: unclear. Direction only; no numerical magnitude is available in this record. Reported p < 0.05. No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them. Reported limitation: The abstract reports bundled outcomes without endpoint-specific effect sizes, confidence intervals, or arm-level means/SDs. Reported limitation: The abstract reports 80 participants but does not state allocation counts by arm. Reported limitation: The abstract lists standardized questionnaires including the Insomnia Severity Index, Leeds Sleep Evaluation Questionnaire, and Restorative Sleep Questionnaire; it does not map each listed symptom result to a specific questionnaire. Reported limitation: The result sentence explicitly says MgT significantly improved vs placebo, but the current direction-source guard does not accept this “improved vs” phrase form; direction remains unclear pending source-matched guard support. No inferential direction is invented. Reported limitation: “Safe and well tolerated” appears in the abstract without adverse-event counts; this is not a safety guarantee. Finding revision: finding:examine2025:39252819:1:v2. Finding version: 2. Finding content hash: sha256:088854b4ade679b9607bb5fc66922f3f5b0c6f5d315731d6b8f1b15e8d4e54cd. Paper version: 4. Paper version content hash: sha256:7fbd5839c1b53e9a756560cefbd8c7b00ccda6f69b623a9a992f9a061be6f70c. Source content hash: sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8. Extraction policy: examine2025-mgt-context-v1:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601. Extraction policy hash: sha256:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601. Extraction method version: source-anchored-qualitative-context/v1. Field locators: applicability.population → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective bundled p threshold; limitations → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, exact source context. Source document: https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text. Source hash: sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8. Locators: applicability.population: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention: Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents: Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator: Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design: Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument: Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct: Abstract, Results, objective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection: Abstract, Results, objective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value: Abstract, Results, objective bundled p threshold; limitations: Abstract, Results, exact source context; contextMapping.definition: Abstract, definition — provisional related context; contextMapping.methods: Abstract, methods — provisional related context; contextMapping.authorScope: Abstract, authorScope — provisional related context; contextMapping.methods: Abstract, methods — provisional related context; contextMapping.objectiveResult: Abstract, objectiveResult — provisional related context; contextMapping.authorScope: Abstract, authorScope — provisional related context; applicability.timepoint: Abstract, Patients/Methods, 21-day intervention period. Canonical paper: /studies/39252819. This is a reading of this version, not a clinical recommendation. Check the current paper page for updates.

Source and extraction detail
Finding revision
finding:examine2025:39252819:1:v2
Finding version
2
Finding content hash
sha256:088854b4ade679b9607bb5fc66922f3f5b0c6f5d315731d6b8f1b15e8d4e54cd
Paper version
4
Paper version content hash
sha256:7fbd5839c1b53e9a756560cefbd8c7b00ccda6f69b623a9a992f9a061be6f70c
Source content hash
sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8
Extraction policy
examine2025-mgt-context-v1:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601
Extraction policy hash
sha256:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601
Extraction method version
source-anchored-qualitative-context/v1
Field locators
applicability.population → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective bundled p threshold; limitations → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, exact source context

Source documents

  • https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text — sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8 (applicability.population → Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention → Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents → Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator → Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design → Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument → Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct → Abstract, Results, objective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric → Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection → Abstract, Results, objective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value → Abstract, Results, objective bundled p threshold; limitations → Abstract, Results, exact source context; contextMapping.definition → Abstract, definition — provisional related context; contextMapping.methods → Abstract, methods — provisional related context; contextMapping.authorScope → Abstract, authorScope — provisional related context; contextMapping.methods → Abstract, methods — provisional related context; contextMapping.objectiveResult → Abstract, objectiveResult — provisional related context; contextMapping.authorScope → Abstract, authorScope — provisional related context; applicability.timepoint → Abstract, Patients/Methods, 21-day intervention period)

Read the full paper explanation →Original source · Bring into My Profile

PMID 39138397: ISI

  • AI-extracted — pending human review
  • Extraction status: machine extracted. Source status is not human clinical review.
  • Publication status: published. Record review status: not reviewed.
  • Not poolable: one source-reported result, not a pooled treatment estimate.

Authors reported insomnia severity (ISI) as Mg sulphate group 17.45 score and Control group 22.4 score, each summarised separately.

Reported p < 0.001.

  • Studied route/context: intravenous.

patients undergoing lumbar fixation; randomized controlled trial. Magnesium sulphate versus general anesthesia. insomnia severity (ISI) at 2 weeks after surgery.

Related research with a different studied context; applicability to this question remains limited.

Reported arm summaries

Values as reported by the source. Dispersion is the type the source recorded.
Study armReported valueDispersionParticipants
Mg sulphate group17.45 scoreSD 4.32n=40
Control group22.4 scoreSD 3.29n=40

No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them.

Studied context

The context this result was produced in. It bounds what the result can be applied to.
Participants / populationpatients undergoing lumbar fixation
Study designrandomized controlled trial
Analysis populationunclear
Covariate adjustmentAdjustment unresolved in this record
Studied interventionMagnesium sulphate
Studied route / contextintravenous
Comparatorgeneral anesthesia
Measured outcomeinsomnia severity (ISI)
Timepoint2 weeks after surgery

Limitations reported for this finding

  • AI-extracted; pending human review.
  • Lumbar-fixation surgery and intraoperative magnesium sulphate adjunct to general anaesthesia; not oral supplementation.
  • Raw arm summaries at two weeks after surgery; not change scores or the adjusted regression coefficient.
  • Analysis-population and adjustment details are not established by this descriptive extraction; no pooled effect or certainty upgrade.

Visual summary

Each tile describes this source record. Tile position and size do not represent benefit or a recommendation.

Mg sulphate group

17.45 score

SD 4.32 · Participants: n=40

Control group

22.4 score

SD 3.29 · Participants: n=40

Participants / population

patients undergoing lumbar fixation

Studied intervention

Magnesium sulphate

Studied route / context

intravenous

Measured outcome

insomnia severity (ISI)

Timepoint

2 weeks after surgery

Reported p < 0.001.

No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them.

Same finding version 1; paper version 2. Exact identity, status and limitations remain in this article.

Audio reading

Read this exact transcript with an on-device browser voice. Checks the current public source version and starts only when you press Play; no audio provider or upload. Availability depends on this browser’s local voices.

Checking for a local voice…

Complete versioned transcript

Versioned snapshot of this displayed record. It may no longer be current; audio requires a successful current-version check.

PMID 39138397: ISI Stable finding ID: finding:pmid:39138397:isi:postoperative-two-weeks. Finding version: 1. Revision: finding:pmid:39138397:isi:postoperative-two-weeks:v1. Content hash: sha256:38d9f5892c47e85982a8771ac7f604220ea728aa033ee0d13bf28c62dac2257b. Paper version: 2. Paper content hash: sha256:dd3bc7bade8b84173b4ecfbb47525a9c6860c70bd9a0d4767e15c904a9cb201c. AI-extracted — pending human review Extraction status: machine extracted. Source status is not human clinical review. Publication status: published. Record review status: not reviewed. Not poolable: one source-reported result, not a pooled treatment estimate. Authors reported insomnia severity (ISI) as Mg sulphate group 17.45 score and Control group 22.4 score, each summarised separately. Studied route/context: intravenous. patients undergoing lumbar fixation; randomized controlled trial. Magnesium sulphate versus general anesthesia. insomnia severity (ISI) at 2 weeks after surgery. Participants / population: patients undergoing lumbar fixation. Study design: randomized controlled trial. Analysis population: unclear. Covariate adjustment: Adjustment unresolved in this record. Studied intervention: Magnesium sulphate. Studied combination: Not encoded in this record. Studied route / context: intravenous. Comparator: general anesthesia. Measured outcome: insomnia severity (ISI). Timepoint: 2 weeks after surgery. Related research with a different studied context; applicability to this question remains limited. Mg sulphate group: reported value 17.45 score; SD 4.32; participants 40. Control group: reported value 22.4 score; SD 3.29; participants 40. Reported p < 0.001. No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them. Reported limitation: AI-extracted; pending human review. Reported limitation: Lumbar-fixation surgery and intraoperative magnesium sulphate adjunct to general anaesthesia; not oral supplementation. Reported limitation: Raw arm summaries at two weeks after surgery; not change scores or the adjusted regression coefficient. Reported limitation: Analysis-population and adjustment details are not established by this descriptive extraction; no pooled effect or certainty upgrade. Finding revision: finding:pmid:39138397:isi:postoperative-two-weeks:v1. Finding version: 1. Finding content hash: sha256:38d9f5892c47e85982a8771ac7f604220ea728aa033ee0d13bf28c62dac2257b. Paper version: 2. Paper version content hash: sha256:dd3bc7bade8b84173b4ecfbb47525a9c6860c70bd9a0d4767e15c904a9cb201c. Source content hash: sha256:7a50003b05a8c9c02f3dd5dd52359b0e278f4c8efa0b850d02ba8da68ee45a92. Extraction policy: reported-findings-initial2-v1. Extraction policy hash: sha256:c0d84a3eafb1f7e7f5c4931e65dc3d9d9301f05110e8db8b8718d2b734ec5563. Extraction method version: source-grounded-reported-findings-v1. Field locators: applicability.population → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalIntervention → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalInterventionRoute → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.comparator → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.design → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.instrument → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.outcomeConstruct → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.participantMetric → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; postoperative ISI; experimental.armLabel → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; column header; comparator.armLabel → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; column header; experimental.n → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; experimental column n; comparator.n → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; control column n; experimental.mean → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; experimental mean; experimental.dispersion.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; experimental SD; comparator.mean → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; control mean; comparator.dispersion.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; control SD; experimental.unit → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Methods; ISI scale; comparator.unit → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Methods; ISI scale; reportedSignificance.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; p-value. Source document: https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/. Source hash: sha256:7a50003b05a8c9c02f3dd5dd52359b0e278f4c8efa0b850d02ba8da68ee45a92. Locators: applicability.population: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalIntervention: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalInterventionRoute: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.comparator: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.design: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.instrument: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.outcomeConstruct: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.participantMetric: Table 2; postoperative ISI; experimental.armLabel: Table 2; column header; comparator.armLabel: Table 2; column header; experimental.n: Table 2; experimental column n; comparator.n: Table 2; control column n; experimental.mean: Table 2; ISI; experimental mean; experimental.dispersion.value: Table 2; ISI; experimental SD; comparator.mean: Table 2; ISI; control mean; comparator.dispersion.value: Table 2; ISI; control SD; experimental.unit: Methods; ISI scale; comparator.unit: Methods; ISI scale; reportedSignificance.value: Table 2; ISI; p-value; timepoint: Methods; ISI assessment time; association-intervention: Abstract; authors-reported result; association-outcome: Abstract; authors-reported result. Canonical paper: /studies/39138397. This is a reading of this version, not a clinical recommendation. Check the current paper page for updates.

Source and extraction detail
Finding revision
finding:pmid:39138397:isi:postoperative-two-weeks:v1
Finding version
1
Finding content hash
sha256:38d9f5892c47e85982a8771ac7f604220ea728aa033ee0d13bf28c62dac2257b
Paper version
2
Paper version content hash
sha256:dd3bc7bade8b84173b4ecfbb47525a9c6860c70bd9a0d4767e15c904a9cb201c
Source content hash
sha256:7a50003b05a8c9c02f3dd5dd52359b0e278f4c8efa0b850d02ba8da68ee45a92
Extraction policy
reported-findings-initial2-v1
Extraction policy hash
sha256:c0d84a3eafb1f7e7f5c4931e65dc3d9d9301f05110e8db8b8718d2b734ec5563
Extraction method version
source-grounded-reported-findings-v1
Field locators
applicability.population → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalIntervention → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalInterventionRoute → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.comparator → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.design → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.instrument → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.outcomeConstruct → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.participantMetric → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; postoperative ISI; experimental.armLabel → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; column header; comparator.armLabel → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; column header; experimental.n → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; experimental column n; comparator.n → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; control column n; experimental.mean → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; experimental mean; experimental.dispersion.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; experimental SD; comparator.mean → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; control mean; comparator.dispersion.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; control SD; experimental.unit → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Methods; ISI scale; comparator.unit → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Methods; ISI scale; reportedSignificance.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; p-value

Source documents

  • https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/ — sha256:7a50003b05a8c9c02f3dd5dd52359b0e278f4c8efa0b850d02ba8da68ee45a92 (applicability.population → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalIntervention → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalInterventionRoute → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.comparator → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.design → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.instrument → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.outcomeConstruct → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.participantMetric → Table 2; postoperative ISI; experimental.armLabel → Table 2; column header; comparator.armLabel → Table 2; column header; experimental.n → Table 2; experimental column n; comparator.n → Table 2; control column n; experimental.mean → Table 2; ISI; experimental mean; experimental.dispersion.value → Table 2; ISI; experimental SD; comparator.mean → Table 2; ISI; control mean; comparator.dispersion.value → Table 2; ISI; control SD; experimental.unit → Methods; ISI scale; comparator.unit → Methods; ISI scale; reportedSignificance.value → Table 2; ISI; p-value; timepoint → Methods; ISI assessment time; association-intervention → Abstract; authors-reported result; association-outcome → Abstract; authors-reported result)

Read the full paper explanation →Original source · Bring into My Profile