Magnesium: what the evidence actually shows

settled  magnesium — evidence and attention roughly aligned

Reviewer and governance status are shown on each atomic claim below.

What it is

Magnesium is tracked as a health intervention in this evidence graph. Also known as: magnesium glycinate.

Studied forms and doses

Mechanisms

Mechanistic plausibility is context, not proof that a clinical outcome improves.

⚠ Safety in context

Products and verification

No product label snapshot is mapped in this released catalog. Ingredient evidence does not establish any bottle’s identity, potency, purity, availability, or value.

Evidence by outcome

heart healthgrade Bmoderate certainty— Meta-analysis of 38 RCTs (2709 participants): magnesium supplementation modestly lowered blood pressure — systolic by about 2.8 mm Hg and diastolic by about 2.0 mm Hg versus control. A small but consistent blood-pressure effect; not shown to reduce cardiovascular events directly.
inflammationgrade Bmoderate certainty— Meta-analysis of RCTs: magnesium supplementation significantly reduced several inflammatory markers, most consistently serum C-reactive protein (and nitric oxide), versus control. The effect on downstream clinical outcomes is not established — this is a biomarker signal.
sleepgrade Clow certainty— may modestly reduce sleep-onset latency in older adults with insomnia, but the evidence is limited and low quality; benefit for general adults or magnesium glycinate specifically is uncertain
stressgrade Clow certainty— may modestly reduce subjective anxiety/stress, esp. in deficiency
blood sugargrade Cmoderate certainty— modest improvement in insulin sensitivity / fasting glucose, mainly in deficiency or diabetes
migraine frequencygrade Clow certainty— 10 oral-magnesium RCTs (n=789): reduced migraine frequency and intensity vs. placebo (odds ratios 0.20 and 0.27, no CIs given); some trials had inadequate randomization per the review authors. A separate IV arm covered acute attacks, not prevention.
bone healthgrade Clow certainty— Systematic review in older adults: higher magnesium status/intake is associated with greater bone mineral density and, in some studies, lower fracture risk. Evidence is largely observational, so the association does not establish that supplementation prevents fractures.
cognitiongrade Clow certainty— Systematic review of magnesium and cognitive health in adults: the evidence linking magnesium status or intake to cognition is limited and inconsistent, drawn largely from observational data, and the authors call for better-designed studies with repeated magnesium biomarkers before any conclusion. No demonstrated cognitive benefit from supplementation.
moodstudied, no effectmoderate certainty— Not recommended for unipolar depression

People say · Evidence shows

“Magnesium glycinate is better for sleep because it crosses the blood-brain barrier”

aheadlargemechanistic speculation

What it probably doesn't do

Grade history

Re-review cadence: every 12 months (Grade A/B) · next scheduled by · methodology v1.

By outcome — the money pages

Compare

More

sources: PMID:41000008 · PMID:35277037 · PMID:35184264 · PMID:33865376 · PMID:28445426 · PMID:35045911 · PMID:26752497 · PMID:34666201 · PMID:39009081 · PMID:35311615

Cite this page

Citation is encouraged. The proposed reuse license is CC-BY-4.0; status: pending-governance-ratification.

Plain-text citation
Substrate. Magnesium: what the evidence actually shows. https://evidencebased.info/interventions/magnesium. Updated 2026-07-19.
BibTeX
@misc{substrate_terventionsmagnesium,
  author = {Substrate editorial},
  title  = {Magnesium: what the evidence actually shows},
  year   = {2026},
  url    = {https://evidencebased.info/interventions/magnesium},
  note   = {evidencebased.info}
}

1 paper with unavailable publication authority was omitted. Current findings are the verified subset of this bounded collection; this is not a complete literature search.

Source-reported research findings

AI-extracted — pending human review. These findings retain the studied context and are not pooled treatment estimates.

PMID 39252819: Oura ring

  • AI-extracted — pending human review
  • Extraction status: machine extracted. Source status is not human clinical review.
  • Publication status: published. Record review status: not reviewed.
  • Not poolable: one source-reported result, not a pooled treatment estimate.

Direction for deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring) remains unresolved in this record.

Reported p < 0.05.

  • Studied combination: MgT.

Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems; randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study. 1 g/day of MgT versus placebo. deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring) at 21 days MgT or placebo.

Related research with a different studied context; applicability to this question remains limited.

Source-reported direction

Source-reported direction: unclear.

No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them.

Studied context

The context this result was produced in. It bounds what the result can be applied to.
Participants / populationEighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems
Study designrandomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study
Analysis populationunclear
Covariate adjustmentAdjustment unresolved in this record
Studied intervention1 g/day of MgT
Studied combinationMgT
Comparatorplacebo
Measured outcomedeep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring)
Timepoint21 days MgT or placebo

Limitations reported for this finding

  • The abstract reports bundled outcomes without endpoint-specific effect sizes, confidence intervals, or arm-level means/SDs.
  • The abstract reports 80 participants but does not state allocation counts by arm.
  • The abstract lists standardized questionnaires including the Insomnia Severity Index, Leeds Sleep Evaluation Questionnaire, and Restorative Sleep Questionnaire; it does not map each listed symptom result to a specific questionnaire.
  • The result sentence explicitly says MgT significantly improved vs placebo, but the current direction-source guard does not accept this “improved vs” phrase form; direction remains unclear pending source-matched guard support. No inferential direction is invented.
  • “Safe and well tolerated” appears in the abstract without adverse-event counts; this is not a safety guarantee.

Visual summary

Each tile describes this source record. Tile position and size do not represent benefit or a recommendation.

Direction only

Source-reported direction: unclear.

No numerical magnitude is available in this record.

Participants / population

Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems

Studied intervention

1 g/day of MgT

Studied combination

MgT

Measured outcome

deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring)

Timepoint

21 days MgT or placebo

Reported p < 0.05.

No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them.

Same finding version 2; paper version 4. Exact identity, status and limitations remain in this article.

Audio reading

Read this exact transcript with an on-device browser voice. Checks the current public source version and starts only when you press Play; no audio provider or upload. Availability depends on this browser’s local voices.

Checking for a local voice…

Complete versioned transcript

Versioned snapshot of this displayed record. It may no longer be current; audio requires a successful current-version check.

PMID 39252819: Oura ring Stable finding ID: finding:examine2025:39252819:1. Finding version: 2. Revision: finding:examine2025:39252819:1:v2. Content hash: sha256:088854b4ade679b9607bb5fc66922f3f5b0c6f5d315731d6b8f1b15e8d4e54cd. Paper version: 4. Paper content hash: sha256:7fbd5839c1b53e9a756560cefbd8c7b00ccda6f69b623a9a992f9a061be6f70c. AI-extracted — pending human review Extraction status: machine extracted. Source status is not human clinical review. Publication status: published. Record review status: not reviewed. Not poolable: one source-reported result, not a pooled treatment estimate. Direction for deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring) remains unresolved in this record. Studied combination: MgT. Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems; randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study. 1 g/day of MgT versus placebo. deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring) at 21 days MgT or placebo. Participants / population: Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems. Study design: randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study. Analysis population: unclear. Covariate adjustment: Adjustment unresolved in this record. Studied intervention: 1 g/day of MgT. Studied combination: MgT. Studied route / context: Not encoded in this record. Comparator: placebo. Measured outcome: deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring). Timepoint: 21 days MgT or placebo. Related research with a different studied context; applicability to this question remains limited. Source-reported direction: unclear. Direction only; no numerical magnitude is available in this record. Reported p < 0.05. No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them. Reported limitation: The abstract reports bundled outcomes without endpoint-specific effect sizes, confidence intervals, or arm-level means/SDs. Reported limitation: The abstract reports 80 participants but does not state allocation counts by arm. Reported limitation: The abstract lists standardized questionnaires including the Insomnia Severity Index, Leeds Sleep Evaluation Questionnaire, and Restorative Sleep Questionnaire; it does not map each listed symptom result to a specific questionnaire. Reported limitation: The result sentence explicitly says MgT significantly improved vs placebo, but the current direction-source guard does not accept this “improved vs” phrase form; direction remains unclear pending source-matched guard support. No inferential direction is invented. Reported limitation: “Safe and well tolerated” appears in the abstract without adverse-event counts; this is not a safety guarantee. Finding revision: finding:examine2025:39252819:1:v2. Finding version: 2. Finding content hash: sha256:088854b4ade679b9607bb5fc66922f3f5b0c6f5d315731d6b8f1b15e8d4e54cd. Paper version: 4. Paper version content hash: sha256:7fbd5839c1b53e9a756560cefbd8c7b00ccda6f69b623a9a992f9a061be6f70c. Source content hash: sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8. Extraction policy: examine2025-mgt-context-v1:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601. Extraction policy hash: sha256:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601. Extraction method version: source-anchored-qualitative-context/v1. Field locators: applicability.population → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective bundled p threshold; limitations → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, exact source context. Source document: https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text. Source hash: sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8. Locators: applicability.population: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention: Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents: Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator: Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design: Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument: Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct: Abstract, Results, objective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection: Abstract, Results, objective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value: Abstract, Results, objective bundled p threshold; limitations: Abstract, Results, exact source context; contextMapping.definition: Abstract, definition — provisional related context; contextMapping.methods: Abstract, methods — provisional related context; contextMapping.authorScope: Abstract, authorScope — provisional related context; contextMapping.methods: Abstract, methods — provisional related context; contextMapping.objectiveResult: Abstract, objectiveResult — provisional related context; contextMapping.authorScope: Abstract, authorScope — provisional related context; applicability.timepoint: Abstract, Patients/Methods, 21-day intervention period. Canonical paper: /studies/39252819. This is a reading of this version, not a clinical recommendation. Check the current paper page for updates.

Source and extraction detail
Finding revision
finding:examine2025:39252819:1:v2
Finding version
2
Finding content hash
sha256:088854b4ade679b9607bb5fc66922f3f5b0c6f5d315731d6b8f1b15e8d4e54cd
Paper version
4
Paper version content hash
sha256:7fbd5839c1b53e9a756560cefbd8c7b00ccda6f69b623a9a992f9a061be6f70c
Source content hash
sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8
Extraction policy
examine2025-mgt-context-v1:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601
Extraction policy hash
sha256:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601
Extraction method version
source-anchored-qualitative-context/v1
Field locators
applicability.population → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, objective bundled p threshold; limitations → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, exact source context

Source documents

  • https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text — sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8 (applicability.population → Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention → Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents → Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator → Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design → Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument → Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct → Abstract, Results, objective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric → Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection → Abstract, Results, objective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value → Abstract, Results, objective bundled p threshold; limitations → Abstract, Results, exact source context; contextMapping.definition → Abstract, definition — provisional related context; contextMapping.methods → Abstract, methods — provisional related context; contextMapping.authorScope → Abstract, authorScope — provisional related context; contextMapping.methods → Abstract, methods — provisional related context; contextMapping.objectiveResult → Abstract, objectiveResult — provisional related context; contextMapping.authorScope → Abstract, authorScope — provisional related context; applicability.timepoint → Abstract, Patients/Methods, 21-day intervention period)

Read the full paper explanation →Original source · Bring into My Profile

PMID 39252819: standardized questionnaires

  • AI-extracted — pending human review
  • Extraction status: machine extracted. Source status is not human clinical review.
  • Publication status: published. Record review status: not reviewed.
  • Not poolable: one source-reported result, not a pooled treatment estimate.

Direction for behavior upon awakening, energy and daytime productivity, grouchiness, mood and mental alertness (standardized questionnaires) remains unresolved in this record.

Reported p < 0.05.

  • Studied combination: MgT.

Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems; randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study. 1 g/day of MgT versus placebo. behavior upon awakening, energy and daytime productivity, grouchiness, mood and mental alertness (standardized questionnaires) at 21 days MgT or placebo.

Related research with a different studied context; applicability to this question remains limited.

Source-reported direction

Source-reported direction: unclear.

No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them.

Studied context

The context this result was produced in. It bounds what the result can be applied to.
Participants / populationEighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems
Study designrandomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study
Analysis populationunclear
Covariate adjustmentAdjustment unresolved in this record
Studied intervention1 g/day of MgT
Studied combinationMgT
Comparatorplacebo
Measured outcomebehavior upon awakening, energy and daytime productivity, grouchiness, mood and mental alertness (standardized questionnaires)
Timepoint21 days MgT or placebo

Limitations reported for this finding

  • The abstract reports bundled outcomes without endpoint-specific effect sizes, confidence intervals, or arm-level means/SDs.
  • The abstract reports 80 participants but does not state allocation counts by arm.
  • The abstract lists standardized questionnaires including the Insomnia Severity Index, Leeds Sleep Evaluation Questionnaire, and Restorative Sleep Questionnaire; it does not map each listed symptom result to a specific questionnaire.
  • The result sentence explicitly says MgT significantly improved vs placebo, but the current direction-source guard does not accept this “improved vs” phrase form; direction remains unclear pending source-matched guard support. No inferential direction is invented.
  • “Safe and well tolerated” appears in the abstract without adverse-event counts; this is not a safety guarantee.

Visual summary

Each tile describes this source record. Tile position and size do not represent benefit or a recommendation.

Direction only

Source-reported direction: unclear.

No numerical magnitude is available in this record.

Participants / population

Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems

Studied intervention

1 g/day of MgT

Studied combination

MgT

Measured outcome

behavior upon awakening, energy and daytime productivity, grouchiness, mood and mental alertness (standardized questionnaires)

Timepoint

21 days MgT or placebo

Reported p < 0.05.

No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them.

Same finding version 2; paper version 4. Exact identity, status and limitations remain in this article.

Audio reading

Read this exact transcript with an on-device browser voice. Checks the current public source version and starts only when you press Play; no audio provider or upload. Availability depends on this browser’s local voices.

Checking for a local voice…

Complete versioned transcript

Versioned snapshot of this displayed record. It may no longer be current; audio requires a successful current-version check.

PMID 39252819: standardized questionnaires Stable finding ID: finding:examine2025:39252819:2. Finding version: 2. Revision: finding:examine2025:39252819:2:v2. Content hash: sha256:ac64c7616a028b73f7e6f24a1e60be2970f89332aae2c3000ca9124708837943. Paper version: 4. Paper content hash: sha256:7fbd5839c1b53e9a756560cefbd8c7b00ccda6f69b623a9a992f9a061be6f70c. AI-extracted — pending human review Extraction status: machine extracted. Source status is not human clinical review. Publication status: published. Record review status: not reviewed. Not poolable: one source-reported result, not a pooled treatment estimate. Direction for behavior upon awakening, energy and daytime productivity, grouchiness, mood and mental alertness (standardized questionnaires) remains unresolved in this record. Studied combination: MgT. Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems; randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study. 1 g/day of MgT versus placebo. behavior upon awakening, energy and daytime productivity, grouchiness, mood and mental alertness (standardized questionnaires) at 21 days MgT or placebo. Participants / population: Eighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problems. Study design: randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm study. Analysis population: unclear. Covariate adjustment: Adjustment unresolved in this record. Studied intervention: 1 g/day of MgT. Studied combination: MgT. Studied route / context: Not encoded in this record. Comparator: placebo. Measured outcome: behavior upon awakening, energy and daytime productivity, grouchiness, mood and mental alertness (standardized questionnaires). Timepoint: 21 days MgT or placebo. Related research with a different studied context; applicability to this question remains limited. Source-reported direction: unclear. Direction only; no numerical magnitude is available in this record. Reported p < 0.05. No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them. Reported limitation: The abstract reports bundled outcomes without endpoint-specific effect sizes, confidence intervals, or arm-level means/SDs. Reported limitation: The abstract reports 80 participants but does not state allocation counts by arm. Reported limitation: The abstract lists standardized questionnaires including the Insomnia Severity Index, Leeds Sleep Evaluation Questionnaire, and Restorative Sleep Questionnaire; it does not map each listed symptom result to a specific questionnaire. Reported limitation: The result sentence explicitly says MgT significantly improved vs placebo, but the current direction-source guard does not accept this “improved vs” phrase form; direction remains unclear pending source-matched guard support. No inferential direction is invented. Reported limitation: “Safe and well tolerated” appears in the abstract without adverse-event counts; this is not a safety guarantee. Finding revision: finding:examine2025:39252819:2:v2. Finding version: 2. Finding content hash: sha256:ac64c7616a028b73f7e6f24a1e60be2970f89332aae2c3000ca9124708837943. Paper version: 4. Paper version content hash: sha256:7fbd5839c1b53e9a756560cefbd8c7b00ccda6f69b623a9a992f9a061be6f70c. Source content hash: sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8. Extraction policy: examine2025-mgt-context-v1:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601. Extraction policy hash: sha256:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601. Extraction method version: source-anchored-qualitative-context/v1. Field locators: applicability.population → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, subjective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, subjective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, subjective bundled p threshold; limitations → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, exact source context. Source document: https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text. Source hash: sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8. Locators: applicability.population: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention: Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents: Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator: Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design: Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument: Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct: Abstract, Results, subjective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection: Abstract, Results, subjective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value: Abstract, Results, subjective bundled p threshold; limitations: Abstract, Results, exact source context; contextMapping.definition: Abstract, definition — provisional related context; contextMapping.methods: Abstract, methods — provisional related context; contextMapping.authorScope: Abstract, authorScope — provisional related context; applicability.timepoint: Abstract, Patients/Methods, 21-day intervention period. Canonical paper: /studies/39252819. This is a reading of this version, not a clinical recommendation. Check the current paper page for updates.

Source and extraction detail
Finding revision
finding:examine2025:39252819:2:v2
Finding version
2
Finding content hash
sha256:ac64c7616a028b73f7e6f24a1e60be2970f89332aae2c3000ca9124708837943
Paper version
4
Paper version content hash
sha256:7fbd5839c1b53e9a756560cefbd8c7b00ccda6f69b623a9a992f9a061be6f70c
Source content hash
sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8
Extraction policy
examine2025-mgt-context-v1:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601
Extraction policy hash
sha256:a10d577ec738522e2f61d58c31a77d841f7def8d769405a593e540316bed0601
Extraction method version
source-anchored-qualitative-context/v1
Field locators
applicability.population → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, subjective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, subjective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, subjective bundled p threshold; limitations → https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text: Abstract, Results, exact source context

Source documents

  • https://eutils.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/eutils/efetch.fcgi?db=pubmed&id=39252819&rettype=abstract&retmode=text — sha256:c4b7769061135e25a2cac2ee4af52513981625fc752a867e9a3cbccb2ca9bec8 (applicability.population → Abstract, Patients/Methods, participants; applicability.experimentalIntervention → Abstract, Patients/Methods, arms/dose; applicability.experimentalInterventionComponents → Abstract, Patients/Methods, intervention component; applicability.comparator → Abstract, Patients/Methods, comparator; applicability.design → Abstract, Patients/Methods, design; applicability.instrument → Abstract, Patients/Methods, measurement method; applicability.outcomeConstruct → Abstract, Results, subjective outcome bundle; applicability.participantMetric → Abstract, Patients/Methods, participant metric; reportedDirection → Abstract, Results, subjective source-reported comparison; reportedSignificance.value → Abstract, Results, subjective bundled p threshold; limitations → Abstract, Results, exact source context; contextMapping.definition → Abstract, definition — provisional related context; contextMapping.methods → Abstract, methods — provisional related context; contextMapping.authorScope → Abstract, authorScope — provisional related context; applicability.timepoint → Abstract, Patients/Methods, 21-day intervention period)

Read the full paper explanation →Original source · Bring into My Profile

PMID 39138397: ISI

  • AI-extracted — pending human review
  • Extraction status: machine extracted. Source status is not human clinical review.
  • Publication status: published. Record review status: not reviewed.
  • Not poolable: one source-reported result, not a pooled treatment estimate.

Authors reported insomnia severity (ISI) as Mg sulphate group 17.45 score and Control group 22.4 score, each summarised separately.

Reported p < 0.001.

  • Studied route/context: intravenous.

patients undergoing lumbar fixation; randomized controlled trial. Magnesium sulphate versus general anesthesia. insomnia severity (ISI) at 2 weeks after surgery.

Related research with a different studied context; applicability to this question remains limited.

Reported arm summaries

Values as reported by the source. Dispersion is the type the source recorded.
Study armReported valueDispersionParticipants
Mg sulphate group17.45 scoreSD 4.32n=40
Control group22.4 scoreSD 3.29n=40

No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them.

Studied context

The context this result was produced in. It bounds what the result can be applied to.
Participants / populationpatients undergoing lumbar fixation
Study designrandomized controlled trial
Analysis populationunclear
Covariate adjustmentAdjustment unresolved in this record
Studied interventionMagnesium sulphate
Studied route / contextintravenous
Comparatorgeneral anesthesia
Measured outcomeinsomnia severity (ISI)
Timepoint2 weeks after surgery

Limitations reported for this finding

  • AI-extracted; pending human review.
  • Lumbar-fixation surgery and intraoperative magnesium sulphate adjunct to general anaesthesia; not oral supplementation.
  • Raw arm summaries at two weeks after surgery; not change scores or the adjusted regression coefficient.
  • Analysis-population and adjustment details are not established by this descriptive extraction; no pooled effect or certainty upgrade.

Visual summary

Each tile describes this source record. Tile position and size do not represent benefit or a recommendation.

Mg sulphate group

17.45 score

SD 4.32 · Participants: n=40

Control group

22.4 score

SD 3.29 · Participants: n=40

Participants / population

patients undergoing lumbar fixation

Studied intervention

Magnesium sulphate

Studied route / context

intravenous

Measured outcome

insomnia severity (ISI)

Timepoint

2 weeks after surgery

Reported p < 0.001.

No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them.

Same finding version 1; paper version 2. Exact identity, status and limitations remain in this article.

Audio reading

Read this exact transcript with an on-device browser voice. Checks the current public source version and starts only when you press Play; no audio provider or upload. Availability depends on this browser’s local voices.

Checking for a local voice…

Complete versioned transcript

Versioned snapshot of this displayed record. It may no longer be current; audio requires a successful current-version check.

PMID 39138397: ISI Stable finding ID: finding:pmid:39138397:isi:postoperative-two-weeks. Finding version: 1. Revision: finding:pmid:39138397:isi:postoperative-two-weeks:v1. Content hash: sha256:38d9f5892c47e85982a8771ac7f604220ea728aa033ee0d13bf28c62dac2257b. Paper version: 2. Paper content hash: sha256:dd3bc7bade8b84173b4ecfbb47525a9c6860c70bd9a0d4767e15c904a9cb201c. AI-extracted — pending human review Extraction status: machine extracted. Source status is not human clinical review. Publication status: published. Record review status: not reviewed. Not poolable: one source-reported result, not a pooled treatment estimate. Authors reported insomnia severity (ISI) as Mg sulphate group 17.45 score and Control group 22.4 score, each summarised separately. Studied route/context: intravenous. patients undergoing lumbar fixation; randomized controlled trial. Magnesium sulphate versus general anesthesia. insomnia severity (ISI) at 2 weeks after surgery. Participants / population: patients undergoing lumbar fixation. Study design: randomized controlled trial. Analysis population: unclear. Covariate adjustment: Adjustment unresolved in this record. Studied intervention: Magnesium sulphate. Studied combination: Not encoded in this record. Studied route / context: intravenous. Comparator: general anesthesia. Measured outcome: insomnia severity (ISI). Timepoint: 2 weeks after surgery. Related research with a different studied context; applicability to this question remains limited. Mg sulphate group: reported value 17.45 score; SD 4.32; participants 40. Control group: reported value 22.4 score; SD 3.29; participants 40. Reported p < 0.001. No between-arm contrast, interval estimate or pooled result is calculated here; the values above are exactly as the source reported them. Reported limitation: AI-extracted; pending human review. Reported limitation: Lumbar-fixation surgery and intraoperative magnesium sulphate adjunct to general anaesthesia; not oral supplementation. Reported limitation: Raw arm summaries at two weeks after surgery; not change scores or the adjusted regression coefficient. Reported limitation: Analysis-population and adjustment details are not established by this descriptive extraction; no pooled effect or certainty upgrade. Finding revision: finding:pmid:39138397:isi:postoperative-two-weeks:v1. Finding version: 1. Finding content hash: sha256:38d9f5892c47e85982a8771ac7f604220ea728aa033ee0d13bf28c62dac2257b. Paper version: 2. Paper version content hash: sha256:dd3bc7bade8b84173b4ecfbb47525a9c6860c70bd9a0d4767e15c904a9cb201c. Source content hash: sha256:7a50003b05a8c9c02f3dd5dd52359b0e278f4c8efa0b850d02ba8da68ee45a92. Extraction policy: reported-findings-initial2-v1. Extraction policy hash: sha256:c0d84a3eafb1f7e7f5c4931e65dc3d9d9301f05110e8db8b8718d2b734ec5563. Extraction method version: source-grounded-reported-findings-v1. Field locators: applicability.population → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalIntervention → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalInterventionRoute → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.comparator → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.design → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.instrument → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.outcomeConstruct → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.participantMetric → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; postoperative ISI; experimental.armLabel → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; column header; comparator.armLabel → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; column header; experimental.n → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; experimental column n; comparator.n → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; control column n; experimental.mean → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; experimental mean; experimental.dispersion.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; experimental SD; comparator.mean → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; control mean; comparator.dispersion.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; control SD; experimental.unit → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Methods; ISI scale; comparator.unit → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Methods; ISI scale; reportedSignificance.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; p-value. Source document: https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/. Source hash: sha256:7a50003b05a8c9c02f3dd5dd52359b0e278f4c8efa0b850d02ba8da68ee45a92. Locators: applicability.population: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalIntervention: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalInterventionRoute: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.comparator: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.design: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.instrument: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.outcomeConstruct: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.participantMetric: Table 2; postoperative ISI; experimental.armLabel: Table 2; column header; comparator.armLabel: Table 2; column header; experimental.n: Table 2; experimental column n; comparator.n: Table 2; control column n; experimental.mean: Table 2; ISI; experimental mean; experimental.dispersion.value: Table 2; ISI; experimental SD; comparator.mean: Table 2; ISI; control mean; comparator.dispersion.value: Table 2; ISI; control SD; experimental.unit: Methods; ISI scale; comparator.unit: Methods; ISI scale; reportedSignificance.value: Table 2; ISI; p-value; timepoint: Methods; ISI assessment time; association-intervention: Abstract; authors-reported result; association-outcome: Abstract; authors-reported result. Canonical paper: /studies/39138397. This is a reading of this version, not a clinical recommendation. Check the current paper page for updates.

Source and extraction detail
Finding revision
finding:pmid:39138397:isi:postoperative-two-weeks:v1
Finding version
1
Finding content hash
sha256:38d9f5892c47e85982a8771ac7f604220ea728aa033ee0d13bf28c62dac2257b
Paper version
2
Paper version content hash
sha256:dd3bc7bade8b84173b4ecfbb47525a9c6860c70bd9a0d4767e15c904a9cb201c
Source content hash
sha256:7a50003b05a8c9c02f3dd5dd52359b0e278f4c8efa0b850d02ba8da68ee45a92
Extraction policy
reported-findings-initial2-v1
Extraction policy hash
sha256:c0d84a3eafb1f7e7f5c4931e65dc3d9d9301f05110e8db8b8718d2b734ec5563
Extraction method version
source-grounded-reported-findings-v1
Field locators
applicability.population → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalIntervention → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalInterventionRoute → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.comparator → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.design → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.instrument → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.outcomeConstruct → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.participantMetric → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; postoperative ISI; experimental.armLabel → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; column header; comparator.armLabel → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; column header; experimental.n → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; experimental column n; comparator.n → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; control column n; experimental.mean → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; experimental mean; experimental.dispersion.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; experimental SD; comparator.mean → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; control mean; comparator.dispersion.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; control SD; experimental.unit → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Methods; ISI scale; comparator.unit → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Methods; ISI scale; reportedSignificance.value → https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/: Table 2; ISI; p-value

Source documents

  • https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11320981/ — sha256:7a50003b05a8c9c02f3dd5dd52359b0e278f4c8efa0b850d02ba8da68ee45a92 (applicability.population → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalIntervention → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.experimentalInterventionRoute → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.comparator → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.design → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.instrument → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.outcomeConstruct → Abstract; authors-reported result; applicability.participantMetric → Table 2; postoperative ISI; experimental.armLabel → Table 2; column header; comparator.armLabel → Table 2; column header; experimental.n → Table 2; experimental column n; comparator.n → Table 2; control column n; experimental.mean → Table 2; ISI; experimental mean; experimental.dispersion.value → Table 2; ISI; experimental SD; comparator.mean → Table 2; ISI; control mean; comparator.dispersion.value → Table 2; ISI; control SD; experimental.unit → Methods; ISI scale; comparator.unit → Methods; ISI scale; reportedSignificance.value → Table 2; ISI; p-value; timepoint → Methods; ISI assessment time; association-intervention → Abstract; authors-reported result; association-outcome → Abstract; authors-reported result)

Read the full paper explanation →Original source · Bring into My Profile

Studied contexts, side by side

These studies measured their own outcomes in their own populations. Differences between columns are differences in what was studied — not a ranking, and not a head-to-head result.

One column per source-reported finding. Values are as reported; nothing is combined across columns.
Studied contextPMID 39252819: Oura ringPMID 39252819: standardized questionnairesPMID 39138397: ISI
Participants / populationEighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problemsEighty 35-55-year-olds with self-assessed sleep problemspatients undergoing lumbar fixation
Study designrandomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm studyrandomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-arm studyrandomized controlled trial
Studied intervention1 g/day of MgT1 g/day of MgTMagnesium sulphate
Studied combinationMgTMgTNot encoded in this record
Studied route / contextNot encoded in this recordNot encoded in this recordintravenous
Comparatorplaceboplacebogeneral anesthesia
Measured outcomedeep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring)behavior upon awakening, energy and daytime productivity, grouchiness, mood and mental alertness (standardized questionnaires)insomnia severity (ISI)
Timepoint21 days MgT or placebo21 days MgT or placebo2 weeks after surgery
Source-reported resultDirection for deep sleep score, REM sleep score, light sleep time, and activity and readiness parameters activity score, activity daily movement score, readiness score, readiness activity balance, and readiness sleep balance (Oura ring) remains unresolved in this record. Reported p < 0.05.Direction for behavior upon awakening, energy and daytime productivity, grouchiness, mood and mental alertness (standardized questionnaires) remains unresolved in this record. Reported p < 0.05.Authors reported insomnia severity (ISI) as Mg sulphate group 17.45 score and Control group 22.4 score, each summarised separately. Reported p < 0.001.